About the sermon series

Israel’s prophets spoke God’s Word to His people and called them to live faithfully to God, to observe His commandments, and to honor His covenant with them. Several books in the Old Testament are named after prophets. In this sermon series, we will explore twelve of these books that are referred to as the “Minor Prophets,” where “minor” refers to the relatively shorter length of their books compared to other prophets such as Isaiah. Each week we will look at one of the Minor Prophets: Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi. We will explore the Minor Prophets’ messages, reflect on Messianic prophesies, and apply God’s timeless Word to our life and mission today.

“Long ago, at many times and in many ways, God spoke to our fathers by the prophets, but in these last days he has spoken to us by his Son, whom he appointed the heir of all things, through whom also he created the world.” ~ Hebrews 1:1–2

Who were the prophets?

Prophets were part of Israelite society from the days of Moses. Unlike priests, prophets did not inherit their role by birth and were often not part of the religious establishment. Prophets called the Israelites to be faithful to God, His commandments, and His covenant throughout diverse political, religious, and social situations. Some prophets, such as Elijah, do not have Biblical books named after them although they are important figures in the Old Testament.

Twelve prophets are referred to as the Minor Prophets: Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, and Malachi. “Minor” does not mean that their message was less significant than the Major Prophets, which are Isaiah, Jeremiah, Ezekiel, and Daniel. “Minor” simply means that their books are comparatively short in length. The Major and Minor Prophets ministered to God’s people c.875-430 BC.

Upcoming sermons… read ahead!

The sermon series follows the chronological order of the prophets, not the order that they appear in the English Bible. You are encouraged to prepare for each sermon by reading and/or studying each prophet during the week before each sermon is preached.

Obadiah: Messiah our Savior and Judge
January 28

Joel: Messiah who Pours Out His Holy Spirit
February 4

Jonah: Messiah our Resurrected Prophet
February 11

Amos: Messiah the Lord, God of Hosts
February 18

Hosea: Messiah our True Moses, David, and Israel
February 25

Micah: Messiah our Ruler from Bethlehem
March 4

Nahum: Messiah our Herald of Good News
March 11

Zephaniah: Messiah our Witness Against Nations
March 18

Habakkuk: Messiah our Conqueror
March 25

Easter Sunday! (stand alone sermon)
April 1

Zechariah: Messiah our Priest and King
April 8

Haggai: Messiah the Desire of Nations
April 15

Malachi: Messiah our Glorious, Righteous One
April 22